When thinning your garden

Hello, my name is Emily Raup.  This is my first blog and I wanted to start by sharing something short and simple.  I’ve finished college and currently living back at home where we have beautiful land to grow food!  We are mainly doing vegetables and some herbs right now.  It is mostly my project with some help watering when I can’t make it home in time to do so.  My mother, father, and sister also help with ideas and guidance.  Although I’ve helped out on farms  and gardens, I’m experimenting with what I can learn mostly on my own.  To take part in the whole process.

Image

The Kitchen Garden (late March) 

Everything was just coming up here.  My father and I had hand crafted these raised beds from scraps of cedar wood that were lying around (Cedar is naturally resistant to rot and decay, making it a good choice for wood that will be exposed to all the elements for awhile). The raised beds are a new thing for us!

Image

An abundance of tiny kale plants!

Image

Also, an abundance of beautiful mint!  However, a spreading herb.  It will spread and take over.  It is usually best to keep this herb in pots.

Image

Radishes in the middle, collards on either side

Now, the part that was hard to do!  We thinned these little plants (kale, radishes, and collards).  My mother showed and helped me.  It is hard because you are cutting off the precious plants you just grew!  But it is necessary to do so your crop has room to grow and flourish.  If they are crowded, it stunts their ability to grow bigger.

Image

Collards and radishes after we thinned

Image

A lone kale plant.  You can see can see the remnants of the kale we had snipped.  But, this little kale will grow and grow.

This seems like such a waste!  So, how can we make USE of these baby vegetables that we snipped?…

1 – Some vegetables may be transplanted to a new plot.  When doing so, I would wait until they are a little bigger and stronger (then the size demonstrated in my photos).  When transplanting, be wary of the roots.  You also do not want the roots exposed to the sunlight.  Get that little vegetable in the ground and surrounded by good soil quickly.  Make sure it’s snug in the ground, then make sure it gets water immediately.

2 – If you do not have space for transplanting, that’s okay too.  We had space, but we also had extra seeds and another big garden.  With the size of these vegetables, it was best to snip them.  I think next time I will wait until the vegetables are a little older.  So, what we did with them…

We put them in a colander, washed them off, and ATE them in our salad that night!

Image

Image

Image

Baby collards, kale, and radishes with a little bit of mint in the mix

Thank for reading!  I hope my first blog was of interest to you.  I think we learn something new everyday, whether this is what’s new to you today or not.

Special thanks to Mama, Daddy, Annie, and Eli who all contributed to our gardens.  And Katharina, who inspired and helped me start this blog.  Her blog is amazing: http://www.ohonemorething.net/

4 responses to “When thinning your garden

  1. I love this, Emily! So beautiful and inspirational! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and creations from the earth!

Leave a Reply

