The Onions

This is all about our ONIONS!

Image

We can start with the “kitchen garden”.  The onions did not get as big as the ones in the “big garden”.

Image

Leeks in front..but the onions in the back!

Image

Image

Growing a little bit more!

I believe this is as far as I got with taking photos of these onions.  They were still delicious!  They just were not as impressive as the other bunch.

So, here is the “big garden”:

Image

Image

What was interesting, is that the left side of the onions AND the collards were smaller than the right side.  I do not know for certain why this happened.  But, I wonder if it was because the grass/weeds were too close to the plants and took nutrients out of them.  Because as you can see, on the right, is a pathway, not grass and weeds.

Image

Image

My friend Deirdre and I overly excited bout this onion!

Image

Image

Image

Image

I failed to take photos of all of the onions we harvested.  This was the last batch.

Image

Image

Image

Carmelized onions, kale from garden (which was actually past it’s prime time of tasting really yummy, it was so-so), forchetta bread (which I did not make unfortunately, it was something that needed to be eaten up), vermont cheddar cheese, freshly picked raspberries, and organic milk (I’d prefer some raw milk!)

I tend to throw meals together because I’m always so involved with being outside and working on something else.  I try to balance my meals as best as I can.  And eat the freshest foods I can eat.  This day was an “ok” day.  But, I thought I’d share it only because of the fresh onions, greens, and raspberries.

I think what made these onions grow larger than in past years was just letting them sit and grown longer.  You can always pull up some beautiful spring onions with the long green edible stalk to accompany the little onion.  What I did with a lot of them was once the onion surfaced to the top of the soil (basically became visible) I covered it up with soil.  I kept on covering up the onions with soil.  And when the green stalk turned yellow/brown, I dug them up before they rotted or somebody else ate them.

So, next time, I hope to have even more onions!  I’d like to devote half to “spring onions” to enjoy that yummy green stalk and then devote half to allowing the onions to mature and grow to really big delicious onions.  Keep on covering ’em with dirt!  After they are big enough, you leave the dirt on them, let them dry out a bit in the sun, and they’ll last a long time.

Does anyone have any onions secrets? Or special recipes?

Blessings!

3 responses to “The Onions

  1. Hey Darling,
    That was an amazing article on Onions! I mean top notch, spectacular!
    And I think what you said about the grass taking nutrients away from the Onions is an accurate very relevant observation! Next summer I will be there to test this hypothesis with you! Meanwhile, looking at the pictures is making me miss you more and more and more and more, and yet making me very happy because I’m so proud of you and what you are doing this summer! I am very impressed, and you seam to be documenting everything very thoroughly, it’s quite impressive! I love you very much, and I hope you are having a wonderful time at the Festival!
    I love you!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

