Film “Within Reach: Journey to Find Sustainable Community” and other stuff going on

Hello Everyone!

I have not been posting on my blog for awhile.  The reason is because I have been busy at a botany and wilderness skills internship and herbal apprenticeship.  So, I’m learning many things, but have little time to share them.  But, in the near future I hope to share some of the things I have learned here.  In a few weeks, I will return to home near the James River and the mountains.  I’m truly excited.  Because, there is no place like home!

I’ve decided to organize this posting centered around a few separate topics, yet topics that have blended together in my day to day activities, especially this week’s activities and experiences.

Topics:  

1. Film Within Reach: Journey to Find Sustainable Community

2.  Harvest of edible wild greens

3.  Permaculture

4. Comfrey

5. A pastel drawing

So…

1.  I saw an amazing film (Within Reach: Journey to Find Sustainable Community) about a couple’s journey to find sustainable community, biking across the United States.  The film is extremely well done, it is hopeful, inspiring, and beautiful.  It isn’t a film with a message that we are all going to die if we don’t do something.  It is about how people are already living harmoniously and sustainably and so can we.  I saw this film at CommunEcos/Recyclique and non-profit specializing in upcycled goods, green jobs, and enviro and alternomics education.  They are located in Durham, NC.

You can check the film out at:

http://withinreachmovie.com/home.shtml

And check Recyclique at:

http://www.communecos.orgg

2.  I have been learning a little more about edible wild foods.  And recently helped harvest chickweed, dandelion, pepper grass, purple dead nettle, and broad leafed dock in a photo shoot with Sarah Haggerty who is my herbal teacher right now.  The first edible food market in the country is opening in Carrborro, North Carolina. (It is so cool to be a small part of it for a small amount of time!)  A news reporter came out and talked to Sarah about her herbal business, joining us and photo shooting a wild greens harvest.  Sarah is extremely knowledgeable and one who I am learning lots from and has a lot of good to teach us and offer to the world.  She works and teaches at the Piedmont Wildlife Center in Durham, North Carolina as well as teaches and lectures at other facilities and events, and has her own apothecary business.

I will post some more details about these wild edibles hopefully soon.

IMG_4226

3.  The next topic is about permaculture.  In simple terms, permaculture is a way of designing and implementing sustainable living systems rooted in the observation of nature and its natural patterns.  This involves more than just gardening.  I’m becoming very interested in learning more!  I found a useful website where people have graciously done something amazing and are providing humanity something amazing.  A permaculture DVD is being produced based on donations and free online classes on permaculture are being offered.  “The worlds needs this knowledge made as accessible as possible.”

Check it out!:

http://www.indiegogo.com/online-permaculture

4.  So, I was reading about comfrey.  I knew that there were medicinal properties and uses, but did not know that comfrey also can activate compost!  And is easy to grow!

Here is a good resource!:

http://www.motherearthnews.com/organic-gardening/comfrey-leaves-zmaz74zhol.aspx#axzz2MRTR30z6

5.  Lastly, I wanted to share a pastel drawing I did a few days ago.  I was feeling totally incompetent in my abilities to remember things, to know common things, and to basically be normal?  I had to do something that focused on my strengths or what came naturally to me.  Because many things are a struggle.  But, we all have our strengths and weaknesses.  And, I find it good to not totally ignore what doesn’t come naturally but embrace it!  Then also, when it gets too overwhelming to handle, come back to your own ROOTS.

IMG_4229

(I do claim this as my own of course!  No copying, distributing etc)

Sometimes I just need a little COLOR damnit! 🙂

Hope this was useful or inspiring to you all!  Blessings!

Leave a Reply

