Coconut Kale Soup

This morning I had the most amazing dream about holding a little fox!  Then I was holding yet another fox.  Then, in the distance was this “wild cat”.  Well, you know how dreams are.  This was more like a cat/human creature.  It was bipedal.  And it had long fur and a human-like face that was looking at me.  In the dream I knew it was something I’d never seen but I apparently wasn’t that fascinated.

The part about the foxes was so, so sweet though (I may be onto something in connecting with my spirit animal).  And later, I was dreaming of a pot of some kind of coconut soup…

Mmmm..

What did I do after I woke up?  Looked for a thai coconut soup recipe.

I found some wonderful ones, however I did not have  the proper ingredients.  And, to get the proper ingredients I would have to drive an hour to the nearest city.  The recipes called for ingredients such as lemongrass, fish sauce, curry paste, mushrooms, etc.

I improvised!  And it turned out to be something I even want to share.

  • Recipe:

Coconut Kale Soup

Coconut oil

Water

Can of coconut milk (or two)

Handful of chives (or whatever is onion-like that you have)

Small handful of lemon balm (because I had some in the garden)

A few sprigs of basil

2 cloves of garlic

Ginger root

Chinese five-color pepper (seeds removed and it can be any hot pepper you’d like)

Better than bouillon chicken base (or something similar to help flavor, or hey! chicken!)

Tamari (to your taste)

Lime juice from one lime

Several leaves of kale

  • To begin, strip the kale from its stalk.  Cut stalk into small pieces.  Separately, cut kale leaves into bite-sized pices.  In a small skillet, cook the kale stalks down, then add the kale leaves.  This will also cook some in the soup, so don’t overcook.
  • Open the can of coconut milk.  Pour into soup pot.  Add the amount of water you find appropriate.  Whether you want very creamy or slightly creamy is your choice.  You can really add a lot of water to it.
  • Grate the ginger root.  Mince the garlic.  Mince the hot pepper (don’t touch your eyes!).  Throw these in the pot.
  • Chop the chives.  Throw these in the pot too.  (if using onion bulb, I recommend cooking this down with the kale)
  • Add the kale and continue to cook, stirring occasionally.
  • Meanwhile, chop the basil and lemon balm.
  • Add tamari and chicken bouillon to the pot.  Taste and see if it’s to your liking.
  • Now add the basil and lemon balm.

Hint: a way to monitor the progress of your soup is to see how cooked down the kale and other greens are.  

  • Once you feel good with the flavoring and the kale and greens are cooked, add lime juice at very end.

That’s it!

I used what I had, and it turned out to be a delicious soup.  Having the ingredients listed below would make this soup even more divine.

Suggestions:

Add mushrooms

More greens

Cilantro

Red curry paste

Tofu

Chicken

Enjoy and Blessings

Leave a Reply

